domain1.com.au redirect to domain.com + masking

Using a single web hosting account to host multiple sites

Postby Lexy » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:20 am

Qlex,

I'd forgotten all about my postings regarding .htaccess
In the end, I solved my problem with a completely different solution. Instead of trying to redirect using .htaccess, I found a domain registrar with an add on product called "Domain Manager". I transferred the customers domain to this registrar, and was able to perform the redirect at a domain level instead of a website level using the extra functionality. Customer also had to get something done on the target site as well. What this was I don't know. Perhaps this may also be an alternative for you. At least this post now has closure.

Big thanks to Richard for all his help with the code.

Lexy
Lexy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:29 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby richardk » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:57 am

Got a dedicated server which has this address: subdomain.something.eu

If you have a dedicated server why don't you change subdomain.something.pl's DNS to a CNAME of subdomain.something.eu and configure the dedicated server to respond correctly to that request (you might not even need to do that).

Test 1 of .htaccess:
Code: Select all
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://subdomain.something.eu/$1 [P,L]

result: 404 Not found

Test 2 of .htaccess:
Code: Select all
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://subdomain.something.eu/$1 [R,L]

result: subdomain.something.eu loads and displays that url in browser.

Then you hosting does not have mod_proxy.
richardk
 
Posts: 8800
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:50 am

Previous

Return to Domain Handling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron