Directories and Mod_Rewrite

New to mod_rewrite? This is a good place to start.

Directories and Mod_Rewrite

Postby Ian » Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:53 pm

Hi there :)

I'm guessing this should be moved to the newbies corner :roll:, as I'm guessing this may have quite a straight forward solution...

I am new to Mod rewrite and am really struggleing to get my head round it, despite all the help I have sourced on this site or the internet as a whole!

I am currently using the below code for a site I am developing:

Code: Select all
Options +FollowSymLinks

RewriteEngine On

RewriteRule \$ - [L]
RewriteRule ^([^/\.]+)/([^/\.]+)$ index.php?parent=$1&content=$2 [L]
RewriteRule ^([^/\.]+)$ index.php?content=$1 [L]

ErrorDocument 404 /404

However, I have stumbled accross two problems:

1)Accessing my site at domain.com is fine, however, accessing my site via ip.ad.dre.ss/~site causes problems. I am guessing this is something to do with my lack of a RewriteCond, using %{DOCUMENT_ROOT} ? I have played around with this but with no success.

2) The Error Document - not mod_rewrite I know, but because, for example, the page domain.com/a/b is showing domain.com/a/404, whereas I want it to show domain.com/404. Could I use a similar method as above (i.e %{DOCUMENT_ROOT}) to rectify this?

I hope I have made myself clear enough, and would really appreciate any help :)

Many thanks
Ian.[/code]
Ian

Postby richardk » Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:12 pm

What are you trying to achieve?

RewriteRule \$ - [L]

You want to ignore all URLs with a $ in them? Are you trying to not match the variables ($1)?

1)Accessing my site at domain.com is fine, however, accessing my site via ip.ad.dre.ss/~site causes problems.

What problems exactly?

You might need a RewriteBase
RewriteBase /~site/

but that will probably break accessing via example.com.

You could set up a redirect from the IP address to the domain name.
ErrorDocument 404 /404
Options +FollowSymLinks

RewriteEngine On

# If it isn't the domain name